Wipe a ChromeOS device

    Follow

    For the CTL Chormebook:

    Wipe device data - Full Google Page Link

    This article is for Chrome Devices for Business and Education administrators.

    You can clear all the local user data stored on your Chrome device by switching to developer mode and switching back to normal mode. This is useful if you want to re-enroll a Chrome device after a user signs into it.

    To manage the device in your domain, you must enroll a Chrome device first before any user signs in to the device, including you as the administrator. If a user signs in before you enroll the Chrome device, your Google Apps account policies and preferences will not apply, and you need to wipe the device to restart the enrollment process.

    All account information and data stored on the Chrome device that isn't synced with Google Chrome Sync, such as photos, downloaded files, and saved networks, is deleted during a wipe. After you've wiped the device, to manage it in your domain, you need to enroll the Chrome device.
     
    Wipe a Chromebook
      1. Press ESC + Samsung Chromebook Refresh key + POWER. The screen displays a yellow exclamation point (!).
      2. Press CTRL + D to begin dev mode, then ENTER. The screen displays a red exclamation point.
      3. Press CTRL + D, then ENTER. The Chromebook deletes its local data, returning to its initial state. The deletion takes approximately 15 minutes.
      4. When the transaction completes, press the spacebar, then press ENTER to return to verified mode.



     
    Was this article helpful?
    0 out of 0 found this helpful

    Comments